Vertu: Interim Marketing Management (Chief Marketing Officer)

Implementation of the brand strategy and on-boarding of a permanent CMO, 2013/14


 

Goals

Vertu, based in Hampshire (UK), is a global provider of high-end luxury mobile phones. All their phones are handmade in Church Crookham and are characterised by their sapphire crystal screen and titanium housing components, as well as the “Concierge” service. The company was founded by Nokia in 1998, and sold to the Swedish private equity group EQT at the end of 2012. In the course of this restructuring, a new strategic alignment together with an interim manager for the marketing team were sought in order to implement the new marketing targets.

 

Measures

In order to be able to implement the new corporate strategy as promptly as possible, both strategically and tactically, Brand Affairs worked in close cooperation with Vertus’ CEO as well as the corporate consultancy Boston Consulting Group. Together we worked out a plan which defined the brand positioning and also included product and media planning.

Markus Kramer from Brand Affairs took over the position of CMO ad interim and created an operative scope for the efficient implementation of all global marketing activities, as well as the management of the Brand & Marketing team comprising almost 40 members. Parallel to this, a permanent CMP was sought under the supervision of the CEO. In a subsequent transition phase, the new CMO was on-boarded by Brand Affairs, and after a successful handover he took control of the marketing department.


 

Achievements

The operative management of the team, the marketing integration into the executive team and thus the implementation of the marketing measures were all achieved successfully. In addition to the adaptation of the organisational form, it was possible to develop and implement a 360° marketing eco-system.

As interim CMO, Brand Affairs took over both the strategic and the operative management of the global marketing function. This also included the successful launching of two products, global media planning off and online, pricing and product management. With the handover of management responsibility for marketing to the permanent CMO, Brand Affairs completed the project to Vertus’ complete satisfaction.


 

‘Brand Affairs provided us with professional consultancy and clear direction in a period of change. The engaging style connected well with our Executive Team. All round, a great experience.‘

Martin Eves, Global HR Director
Vertu


 


Project team

Vertu: Interim Marketing Management (Chief Marketing Officer)

Umsetzung der Markenstrategie und Einarbeitung eines permanenten CMOs 2013 und 2014.


 

Ziele

Vertu, mit Sitz in Hampshire (UK), bietet weltweit high end Luxusmobiltelefone an. Alle Telefone werden ausschliesslich in Church Crookham in Handarbeit gefertigt und zeichnen sich nebst Saphir Screen und Titaniumgehäuse durch einen Concierge-Service aus. Das Unternehmen wurde 1998 von Nokia gegründet und Ende 2012 an die schwedische Private Equity Gruppe EQT verkauft. Im Zuge dieser Restrukturierung wurde 2013 eine neue strategische Ausrichtung sowie eine Interimsführung des Marketing-Teams gesucht, um die neuen Marketingziele umzusetzen.

 

Massnahmen

Um eine möglichst zeitnahe Umsetzung der neuen Unternehmensstrategie sowohl strategisch als auch taktisch gewährleisten zu können, arbeitetet Brand Affairs in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Vertus’ CEO sowie Unternehmensberatung Boston Consulting Group zusammen. Gemeinsam wurde ein Plan erarbeitet, der die Markenpositionierung vorgab und ebenfalls eine Produkt- und Medienplanung beinhaltete.

Markus Kramer von Brand Affairs übernahm Ad-Interim die Position des CMOs und schuf einen operativen Rahmen zur effizienten Umsetzung aller weltweiten Marketingmassnahmen sowie der Leitung des knapp 40 Personen starken Brand & Marketing Teams. Parallel dazu wurde unter der Leitung des CEO ein permanenter CMO gesucht. In einer abschliessenden Übergangsphase wurde der neue CMO von Brand Affairs eingearbeitet und übernahm nach erfolgreichem Handover die Leitung des Marketing.


 

Erfolge

Die operative Führung des Teams, die Marketing Integration in das Executive Team und damit die Umsetzung der Marketingmassnahmen wurden erfolgreich gemeistert. Nebst der Anpassung der Organisationsform konnte auch ein 360° Marketing Eco-system ausgearbeitet und implementiert werden.

Als Übergangs-CMO übernahm Brand Affairs sowohl die strategische als auch operative Führung der globalen Marketingfunktion. Dazu gehörte auch die erfolgreiche Lancierung zweier Produkte, globale Medienplanung Off- und Online, Pricing sowie Produktmanagement. Mit dem Handover der Marketingleitung an den permanenten CMO schloss Brand Affairs das Projekt zu Vertus’ vollster Zufriedenheit ab.


 

„Brand Affairs hat durch eine professionelle Beratung und klare Richtungsvorgabe in einer Zeit des Wandels überzeugt. Das dynamische Vorgehen und der sympathische Stil kam bei unserem Executive Team sehr gut an. Rundum eine tolle Erfahrung.“

Martin Eves, Global HR Director
Vertu


 


Projektteam